Huskies to hit mat

Custom Search 2

Levi Youngwolfe is one of several Pawhuska freshman expected to make an impact this season on the wrestling mat for the Huskies. He is shown here closing out a victory last year. Pawhuska’s high school and junior high teams are to open their season at home Thursday night versus the Cleveland Tigers. JACK BUZBEE/J-C CORRESPONDENT
Huskie wrestler Caleb Bruce, who is seen controlling his opponent during a junior high match last season, will join the Pawhuska High School team this season. The PHS and PJHS Huskies launch the 2013-14 mat campaign Thursday night with a home dual match against the Cleveland Tigers. JACK BUZBEE/J-C CORRESPONDENT

A promising mix of young talent and proven veterans are to be out on the home mat Thursday for the season opener of the Pawhuska High School Huskies wrestling season.

The Cleveland Tigers will be the Huskies’ opponent in the opening night dual match. Pawhuska Junior High grapplers are to begin the action against Cleveland at 6 p.m. at Oren Terrill Field House.

PHS returns a pair of state qualifiers from a year ago in seniors Taylor Priest and Zane Edwards. Another senior, Derrek Warren, will be back after battling through injuries that have slowed him since his phenomenal debut in 2010-2011.

Junior heavyweight Dakota Jester gained valuable experience last season and looks to be a big contender this year. Another senior standout, Sean Valencia, may rejoin the Huskies in January.

An outstanding crop of freshmen — including Daniel Nightengale, Levi Youngwolfe, Brycen Swan, John Bighorse and Caleb Bruce — will enhance the hopes for this year’s Huskies’ squad.

Pawhuska will compete in Oklahoma Class 3A District 8 which also includes Barnsdall, Newkirk, Tonkawa, Morrison, Pawnee and Woodland.

Starting his third season as head coach of the Huskies is Wade Rogers. The high school assistant coach is Brian Edwards and Patrick McCarty is the new coach at PJHS.

Members of the season-opening wrestling roster for Pawhuska High School are: Holden Easley, Gavin Hendren, Mikey Lynn, Justin Slater, Levi Youngwolfe, Daniel Nightengale, Daniel Parks, Brycen Swan, Taylor Walker, Taylor Priest, Trevor Easley, Caleb Bruce, Jonathan Moody, Mathew Taft, Chris Moody, Cody Townley, Zalen Edwards, Johnny Diaz, Britt Hurd, John Bighorse, Dakota Jester and Derrek Warren.

This year’s Pawhuska Junior High School wrestling roster includes: Zachary Burgan, Vincent Burruss, Chance Butler, Nicholas Edwards, Chad Hahn,Dalton Lough, Payton McCarty, Ryan Parks, Price Perrier, Christopher Pyle, Gaige Reynolds, Rayden Starr, Jet Thomas, Fletcher Warmington and Anthony Youngwolfe.

The Pawhuska Journal-Capital website is available only to print and digital subscribers. If you are already a subscriber, you can access the website at no additional charge.